

Regional Participants Selected For NCAA Division III Baseball Championship

APPLETON (5/12/2015) – Defending national champion University of Wisconsin-Whitewater heads the 56-team field that will compete for the 2015 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III baseball title.

UW-Whitewater is back in the tournament after receiving an at-large bid to this year's championship. The Warhawks defeated Emory University (Ga.), 7-0, in last year's title game to become the first NCAA school to win a football, men's basketball and baseball championship in the same year.

Forty programs gained entry to the tournament by winning conference regular season or tournament championships. The remaining 16 teams received at-large invitations.

Six teams will compete at four regional sites and eight teams will compete at four regional sites on May 13-17. Winners of the eight double-elimination regional tournaments will qualify for the double-elimination finals at Neuroscience Group Field at Fox Cities Stadium in Appleton, Wis., on May 22-27.

The regional sites are Waverly, Iowa; Demorest, Ga.; Harwich, Mass.; Auburn, N.Y.; Washington, Pa.; York, Pa.; Tyler, Texas; and La Crosse, Wis.

Seven of the eight teams that advanced to Appleton last year are back in the 2015 field. Looking to join UW-Whitewater and Emory University with repeat appearances in Appleton are Baldwin Wallace University (Ohio), Linfield College (Ore.), Salisbury University (Md.), the University of Southern Maine, and State University of New York-Cortland.

Other notables in this year's field are 2011 and 2012 national champion Marietta College (Ohio), which is making its record 36th postseason appearance and Methodist University (N.C.) and SUNY Cortland, both making their 24th. The University of Southern Maine is in the field for the 22nd time and Salisbury University for the 21st in the 40 years of the championship.

Greenville College (III.) and Oberlin College (Ohio) will be making their NCAA Division III Baseball Championship debut. Making their second appearances are Catholic University (D.C.), Curry College (Mass.), Pacific Lutheran University (Wash.), Rhodes College (Tenn.) and Whitworth University (Wash.).

Neuroscience Group Field at Fox Cities Stadium will be hosting the finals of the NCAA Division III Baseball Championship for the 16th consecutive year. Lawrence University, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh and the Fox Cities Convention & Visitors Bureau are hosting the event.

Championship Field Announced - Add One

SUNY Cortland is seeking its record-tying ninth appearance in Appleton. Chapman University (Calif.), which did not qualify for this year's tournament, advanced to Appleton nine times from 2000-11. Kean University (N.J.) and Marietta College have advanced to Appleton six times apiece while UW-Whitewater has appeared five times.

This year's eight-team finals will feature a new format. Winners of the two four-team pools will face off in a best-of-three-game series for the national championship.

Game tickets to the finals can be purchased by calling the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers ticket office at (920) 733-4152.

For more information on the 2015 NCAA Division III Baseball Championship, contact Lawrence University Sports Information Director Joe Vanden Acker at (920) 832-6878 or UW-Oshkosh Sports Information Director Kennan Timm at (920) 424-0365.

In addition to the three hosts of the finals, other major local sponsors are the Bergstrom Corporation; J. J. Keller Foundation, Inc., Panther Baseball Program, Radisson Paper Valley Hotel, and the Wisconsin Timber Rattlers.

- 30 -