For additional Midwest Conference results, check out the conference Web site. or the Web sites of conference opponents.


NCAA Division III Championships at DePauw University (March 14, 2003)
Kolade Agbaje-Williams took sixth in the long jump and was named an All-American. The Lawrence freshman jumped 22 feet, 5 inches, in the first-ever appearance by a Viking male athlete at the indoor championships. Joe Moore of Moravian College won the event with a jump of 23-5.5. He was the only jumper to surpass 23 feet.

Midwest Conference Championships at Knox College (March 7-8, 2003)
The Lawrence women finished third with 81 points, and Monmouth won the title with 175.

Lawrence had a 1-2 sweep in the 800, with Shelley Ebert winning the title for the third consecutive season with a time of 2:20.93. Ebert was named one of the meet's Outstanding Performers. Courtney Miller was second in 2:21.46.

Lawrence won the 1,600-meter sprint medley relay with a time of 4:16.80, the 1,600 relay was second in 4:09.03 and broke the school record, the distance medley relay was second in 13:10.08, and the 800 relay was third in 1:50.21. The winning sprint medley team consisted of Ebert, Miller, Sarah Slivinski, and Jess Moser, and the record-breaking 1,600 relay team was Ebert, Slivinski, Moser, and Kim Boeckers.

Slivinski placed in four events, taking second in the long jump (16 feet, 10.75 inches), third in the high jump (4-10), fifth in the 55 hurdles (9.07), and sixth in the triple jump (33-11.5). Slivinski broke the school record in the 55 hurdles, which had stood at 9.04 seconds, during the preliminaries by running 8.94 seconds.

Valerie Curtis grabbed third in the 5,000 meters in 19:06.25 and was second in the 3,000 in 10:52.71.

The Lawrence men took sixth with 26 points, and Monmouth won with 249.
Kolade Agbaje-Williams won a pair of titles. He captured the long jump with a leap of 23-5.5, finishing first by nearly a foot. He also won the triple jump with a leap of 45-9, taking that event by nearly a foot. Agbaje-Williams was named one of the meet's Outstanding Performers.

Kyle Hewitt also placed for the men by grabbing sixth in the 800 in 2:00.04. The men's 1,600 sprint relay team took fifth in 3:41.10, the distance medley relay was fifth in 11:21.02, and the 1,600 relay was sixth in 3:35.00.

University of Wisconsin-Whitewater Invitational (March 1, 2003)
Kolade Agbaje-Williams broke a pair of school records, including one that had stood 16 years, in the meet at Whitewater. Agbaje-Williams jumped 23 feet, 10.75 inches, to win the long jump. In the process, he shattered the record of 23-0, set by Steve Wereley in 1987. Agbaje-Williams took second in the triple jump with a record-setting leap of 46-3.25, breaking the 2001 mark of 45-9.75, set by Jumuah Harden.

On the women's side, Shelley Ebert was again a provisional qualifier for nationals in the 800, winning the event in 2:18.37.

University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Invitational (February 22, 2003)
Lawrence won a pair of events, with Shelley Ebert and Kolade Agbaje-Williams both winning for the Vikings. Ebert won the 800 meters in 2:19.16, and Agbaje-Williams captured the long jump with a distance of 22-8.

Other top finishers for Lawrence were: Agbaje-Williams (sixth, triple jump, 44-4), men's 1,600-meter relay (fifth, 3:35.11), 800 relay (fifth, 1:36.17), Sarah Slivinski (sixth, long jump, 15-7.75; sixth, high jump, 4-9.5), women's 1,600 relay (third, 4:13.22), women's 800 relay (second, 1:53.68), Val Curtis (second, 5,000, 18:49.39).

University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point Invitational (February 15, 2003)
Shelley Ebert won the 800 meters and earned a provisional qualifying spot for the NCAA Division III Indoor Championships. Ebert won the event in 2:18.23, easily the fastest time in the conference this season. Led by her, the Vikings finished seventh among the 12 teams. Sarah Slivinski placed third in the high jump with a leap of 1.52 meters.

On the men's side, Nate Semenak paced Lawrence by taking sixth in the triple jump with a leap of 12.53 meters. Jon Miller was eighth in the long jump with a jump of 5.97 meters. Lawrence, which was 10th among the 12 teams, also took seventh in the 800-meter relay in 1:43.31.

University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh Invitational (February 8, 2003)
The Lawrence women won a pair of eents to take fifth among the eight teams. Shelley Ebert won the 400 meters in 60.60 seconds, and Lawrence's distance medley relay team took fifth in 13:17.85. Other top performers for the women were: Sarah Slivinski (fourth, 55 hurdles, 9.35; sixth, high jump, 4-11), Michelle Milne (sixth, 55 hurdles, 9.50), Valerie Curtis (third, 3,000, 10:50.50), and Rebecca Glon (fifth, pole vault, 8-6.25).

The Lawrence men were fifth among the seven teams. Top finishers for the Vikings were: Nate Semenak (fourth, triple jump, 40-10.5), Jon Miller (fifth, long jump, 20-0.5), the distance medley relay team (third, 11:20.42), and the 800 relay team (fifth, 1:38.02).

Carthage College Invitational (February 1, 2003)
Kolade Agbaje-Williams won one event and took second in another to pace Lawrence. He shattered the meet record in the triple jump when he jumped 45 feet, 6.25 inches, breaking the previous record of 44-6 and coming up 3.5 inches short of Lawrence's school record. Agbaje-Williams also took second in the long jump with a leap of 22-11, which also broke the meet record but he was edged for the title in the event by Henry Holmes of Aquinas, who jumped 23-0.5. Agbaje-Williams' jump was an inch short of Lawrence's school record. James Hahn took fifth in the 200 hurdles in 27.33 seconds. The Lawrence men placed 11th among the 16 teams with 22 points.

Slivinski placed in four events and ran on one relay. She took second in the 200 hurdles in 31.26, took third in the high jump with a leap of 4-11.75, grabbed fourth in the triple jump with a leap of 33-1, placed fifth in the 600 in 1:42.14, and she ran on Lawrence 1,600 relay team that placed second in 4:18.37. Led by her efforts, Lawrence placed fifth among the 13 teams with 69.5 points. Other top performers for the Lawrence women were: Valerie Curtis (third, 3,000, 11:05.07; fifth, 5,000, 18:53.56), Shelley Ebert (second, 600, 1:39.97), Rebecca Glon (fourth, pole vault, 8-6), Michelle Milne (fifth, 55 hurdles, 9.38), Rachel Lucas (eighth, 800, 2:38.78), and the distance medley relay (second, 13:29.26).

University of Wisconsin-Platteville Open (January 18, 2003)
Shelley Ebert led Lawrence by winning the 800 meters in the opening meet of the season. Other top performers for the Lawrence women were: Valerie Curtis (first, 3,000, 11:10.27), Sarah Slivinski (second, high jump, 4-10; third, 55 hurdles, 9.69; fifth, long jump, 15-4), Michelle Milne (second, 55 hurdles, 9.61), Rachel Lucas (fifth, 1,500, 5:34.92), Kelly Scheer (eighth, 3,000, 11:49.38), and the 800-meter relay (seventh, 1:40.40). The Lawrence women were fifth among the eight teams with 55.33 points.

Top performers for the Lawrence men were: Kolade Agbaje-Williams (second, long jump, 21-4; third, triple jump, 45-1.5), James Hahn (fourth, triple jump, 39-9.25), and Kyle Hewitt (eighth, 800, 2:02.06). The Lawrence men finished seventh among the 11 teams with 24 points.