ENG 150 -- Literary Analysis

Mr. Spurgin, Fall 2004


Syllabus

 

WEEK ONE -- POETRY  
Monday, September 27

Donne, "Good Morrow," "Sunne Rising"

Wednesday, September 29 Donne, "Canonization," "Anniversarie"
Friday, October 1 Donne, "Valediction: Forbidding Mourning," "Valediction: Of My Name"

 

WEEK TWO -- MORE LOVE POETRY
Monday, October 4

Creeley, Love Comes Quietly,” “Oh Love,” “Goodbye” (handouts)

Wednesday, October 6 Creeley, “Ballad of the Despairing Husband,” “For Love: for Bobbie,” “Do you think . . .” (handouts)
Friday, October 8 Writing workshop

 

WEEK THREE - THE PASTORAL MODE
Monday, October 11

Marlowe, "Passionate Shepherd"; Marvell, "The Garden"

Wednesday, October 13 Wordsworth, "To My Sister"; Keats, "Ode on a Grecian Urn"
Friday, October 15 Hass, "Meditation at Lagunitas"; Gluck, "Mock Orange"

 

WEEK FOUR -- SONNETS
Monday, October 18

Shakespeare, sonnets 18, 29, 94, 129, 138 (handout)

Wednesday, October 20 Sonnets by Keats, Barrett Browning, Millay (in Making of a Poem)
Friday, October 22  

 

WEEK FIVE -- DRAMA
Monday, October 25

Edson, Wit

Wednesday, October 27 Edson, Wit
Friday, October 29 Donne, Holy Sonnets V, VI, IX, X

 

WEEK SIX -- DRAMA
Monday, November 1

Writing workshop

Wednesday, November 3 Nichols and Thompson, Wit (adaptation for TV)
Friday, November 5 NO CLASS -- READING PERIOD

 

WEEK SEVEN -- FICTION
Monday, November 8

Baxter, "Gryphon"; Moore, "You're Ugly Too"

Wednesday, November 10 Alexie, "What it Means ..."; Bloom, "Silver Water"
Friday, October 8 Excerpts from Aristotle's Poetics (handout)

 

WEEK EIGHT -- FICTION
Monday, November 15

Mukherjee, "Management of Grief"; Smith, "Intensive Care"

Wednesday, November 17 Banks, "Sarah Cole"
Friday, November 19 Wallace, "Little Expressionless Animals" (handout)

 

WEEK NINE -- FICTION
Monday, November 22

O'Brien, "The Things They Carried"

Wednesday, November 24 NO CLASS -- THANKSGIVING
Friday, November 26 NO CLASS -- THANKSGIVING

 

WEEK TEN -- FICTION
Monday, November 29 Writing workshop
Wednesday, December 1 Saunders, "Sea Oak" (handout)
Friday, October 8  

 


mail to Mr. Spurgin

last modified 10-16-04