ENG 465 -- THE ENGLISH NOVEL

Mr. Spurgin, Fall 2004

MWF 1:30-2:40, MH 404


Syllabus

 

WEEK ONE  
Monday, September 27

Richardson, Pamela: 43-130

Wednesday, September 29 Richardson, Pamela: 130-278
Friday, October 1 Richardson, Pamela: 279-380, 401-76

 

WEEK TWO
Monday, October 4

Fielding, Tom Jones: 3-130

Wednesday, October 6 Fielding, Tom Jones: 131-280
Friday, October 8 Fielding, Tom Jones: 283-452

 

WEEK THREE
Monday, October 11

Fielding, Tom Jones: 453-595

Wednesday, October 13 Fielding, Tom Jones: 599-732
Friday, October 15 Fielding, Tom Jones: 733-871

 

WEEK FOUR
Monday, October 18

Austen, Emma: 7-142

Wednesday, October 20 Austen, Emma: 145-291
Friday, October 22 Austen, Emma: 295-453

 

WEEK FIVE
Monday, October 25

Dickens, Oliver Twist: 3-104

Wednesday, October 27 Dickens, Oliver Twist: 105-203
Friday, October 29 Fielding, Oliver Twist: 204-305

 

WEEK SIX
Monday, November 1

Dickens, Oliver Twist: 306-390

Wednesday, November 3 Dickens, Oliver Twist: 391-455
Friday, November 5 NO CLASS -- READING PERIOD

 

WEEK SEVEN
Monday, November 8

Eliot, Middlemarch: 3-120

Wednesday, November 10 Eliot, Middlemarch: 123-225
Friday, November 12 Eliot, Middlemarch: 229-319

 

WEEK EIGHT
Monday, November 15

Eliot, Middlemarch: 323-531

Wednesday, November 17 Eliot, Middlemarch: 535-636
Friday, November 19 Eliot, Middlemarch: 639-730

 

WEEK NINE
Monday, November 22

Eliot, Middlemarch: 733-838

Wednesday, November 24 NO CLASS -- THANKSGIVING
Friday, November 26 NO CLASS -- THANKSGIVING

 

WEEK TEN
Monday, November 29

Hardy, Tess of the d'Urbervilles: 7-152

Wednesday, December 1 Hardy, Tess of the d'Urbervilles: 153-303
Friday, October 8 Hardy, Tess of the d'Urbervilles: 305-398

 


mail to Mr. Spurgin

last modified 8-25-04